Residents Businesses Visitors Government Search Directory Home
Baton Rouge Fire Department

Fire Department Home
Fire Department

Fire Chief's History

Fire Stations

BRFD's Newest Station

Fire Photo Gallery

Fire BRFD Apparatus
Blue Bullet Administration
Blue Bullet Communications
Blue Bullet Fire Investigation
Blue Bullet Fire Prevention BureauFire Prevention
Blue Bullet Fire Safety
Blue Bullet Fire Suppression
Blue Bullet Hazardous Materials
Blue Bullet Rescue
Blue Bullet Special Services
Baton Rouge Mutual Aid System (B.R.A.M.A.S.)
Blue Bullet Monthly Meeting Notice

Fire Prevention Committee Annual Banquet


Fire Prevention Committee Annual Banquet

This year's banquet was be held at The Embassy Suites on Wednesday, October 15th.

Each year the banquet is held to honor the firefighters that have made exceptional contributions in serving the citizens of Baton Rouge. Awards will  also be presented to the winners of the Poster Contest, Citizen Award, and/or Business Award on this evening.

2008 Annual Fire Prevention Banquet Photos

2008 Annual Fire Prevention Banquet
Hosting the Evening "MC" Jay Grymes of WAFB

2008 Annual Fire Prevention Banquet

"2007 Crew of the Year"
Engine #7 A-Shift
Capain Alfred Dixon, FEO; and Firefighters Todd Bennett, Eric King and Albert Aguiniga
2008 Annual Fire Prevention Banquet
2008 Poster Contest Winner
1st Place Overall Winner, Rainon Warren a 5th Grade student at Wedgewood Elementary
2008 Annual Fire Prevention Banquet
Our 2008 Poster Contest Winners
2008 Annual Fire Prevention Banquet
Mayor-President Melvin L. "Kip" Holden


Baton Rouge Exchange Club co-sponors the poster contest. Each year, the committee sponsors a poster contest and the winners are awarded cash prizes and plaques of recognition for their school at the banquet.

This contest enables our Baton Rouge Fire Safety personnel to interact with elementary age children throughout the City of Baton Rouge, educating them in fire safety and prevention. The children are able to express their ideas on fire safety with creative art.

2008 Poster Contest Winners

1st Place Overall Winner
Rainon Warren, 5th Grade/Wedgewood Elementary

2nd Place Overall Winner
Kauya Sood, 3rd Grade/Wedgewood Elementary

Miracle Dailley of Claiborne Elementary

1st Grade
Maggie Stewart of Christian Life

2nd Grade
Leah Miah Leblanc of Wedgewood Elementary

3rd Grade
Kauya Sood of Wedgewood Elementary

4th Grade
Takia Huckaby of Wegdewood Elementary

5th Grade
Rainon Warren of Wedgewood Elementary

We invite your business/organization to attend our annual banquet. Purchase tickets for your employees to dine and enjoy an evening supporting your Baton Rouge Fire Department. Your support is necessary for the BRFD to promote fire safety and prevention in the Baton Rouge area. Tickets are $25 per person or reserve a table (10 people) in recoginition of your business/organization. 

Thank you for your help in supporting the Baton Rouge Fire Department. For more information visit


"2004 Annual Poster Contest Winners"

"2004 Annual Poster Contest Winners"

Poster Winners: Rachel Coxe, Kindergarten, Cedarcrest-Southmoor Elementary with David Sevier, BRFD, Megan Gordon, 2nd Grade, Sacred Heart Catholic School, Candance L-R Allen, 4th Grade, Sacred Heart Catholic School, Maggie Calandro, 5th Grade, Sacred Heart Catholic School, Max Allen, 1st Grade, Parkview Baptist School, Overall Winner:  Lucy Raborn, 3rd Grade, Sacred Heart Catholic School, Overall Runner-Up

"2004 Citizen of the Year Award"

"2004 Citizen of the Year Award"
Mr. Keith Ginn, Mr. Royce Neyland, and Mr. LeShan George, Sr. pictured with Fire Chief Ed Smith and Donna Miller

"2004 Citizen of the Year Award"

"2004 Crew of the Year Award"
Engine #5-B Shift Captain Mark Watts, FEO, Derwin Veal, Firefighters Levert kemp, William Niette, Pete diBenedetto and pictured with the Crew of the Year is Donna Miller with IWBR (Insurance Women of B. R.)

2004 Guest Speaker

2004 Guest Speaker
Investigator Cody Cieutat, State Fire Marshal's Office

2004 Emcee Mr. John Pastorek, WBRZ-TV

Emcee Mr. John Pastorek, WBRZ-TV

"Crew of the Year Award"

"Medal of Valor Award"
Poster Award Winners

Above:  Guest Speaker Mr. Craig Pike of Exxon/Mobil

Right:  Guest Speaker Mr. Leo Honeycutt