Residents Businesses Visitors Government Search Directory Home
Baton Rouge Police Department

BRPD Home[dept/brpd/includes/linksT.htm]


Frequently Asked Questions

[ Abandoned/Junked Vehicle | Alarm Permits | Child Restraint/Safety Seats | Complaints Against Officers | False Alarms | Forgery Victims | Police Reports | Restraining Orders | Hiring Off-duty Police Officers | Lost My Traffic Ticket | Traffic Crash Reports | Missing Persons/Runaways | Police Department Employees | Sex Offenders
]

 

ABANDONED and JUNKED VEHICLES
How do I get an abandoned vehicle removed from my property?

As the owner/authorized agent of the property, you have a right to call the wrecker of your choice to have the vehicle towed away. We suggest that you have signs posted warning of the parking violation. If you have made every effort to find a wrecker to remove the car and cannot locate such wrecker, you may call the Impound Division at 389-3819 for additional information to assist you.

My neighbor has several cars in his yard that are not in running condition. Can anything be done about this? Do I have to give my name?

Yes! Call the Impound Office (You do not have to give your name) with the address of the abandoned vehicles, description of the vehicles, and owner information (If known). An Impound Officer will check the address. If the vehicles fit the criteria under City Statute (CC12:500-509) as being in abandoned or inoperative condition, the Impound Officer will attempt to serve a "Notice to Abate a Public Nuisance" to the owner of the property, or owner of the vehicle(s), or the occupant of the property.

ALARM INFORMATION, FALSE ALARMS and ALARM PERMIT APPLICATION
Why do I have to pay for a permit to have an alarm system?

Everyone in the city of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish (except residents of Baker and Zachary) operating an alarm system must obtain a permit, which costs $25. This is a one-time fee for the permit and is used to help defray costs of maintaining alarm information in police computer systems and responding to false alarms.

Is an alarm permit transferable from address to address or owner to owner?

No.

What is the fine for having a false alarm?

The City-Parish Ordinance governing false alarms was passed in 1986 and amended in 2012 to help reduce the large number of false alarms police must respond to (about 30,000 every year). It allows users up to three false alarms a year, with the one-year period beginning on June 1st and ending May 31st. After that, fines are assessed, as follow:

  • 4th false alarm @ $25.
  • 5th false alarm @ $50.
  • 6th false alarm @ $75.
  • 7th false alarm @ $100.
  • 8th false alarm @ $125.
  • 9th false alarm @ $150.
  • 10th false alarm @ $175.
  • 11th or more @ $200.

For more information on see Alarms, False Alarms, and Alarm Permit Application.

CHILD RESTRAINTS and SAFETY SEATS
What is the law regarding child safety seats?

For the most current Louisiana law regarding child passenger restraint system, please read the Louisiana Revised Statutes 32:295. External web link not maintained by City of Baton Rouge

COMPLAINTS AGAINST OFFICERS
How do I file a complaint against a police officer?

If you have a complaint involving the actions of a Baton Rouge Police Officer, please contact the Internal Affairs Division at 9000 Airline Hwy. or by calling 389-3850. The Internal Affairs Division is responsible for investigating complaints made by the public regarding violation of Departmental Rules, Regulations, Policies or Procedures.

POLICE REPORTS
How do I get a copy of a police report?

Police reports considered public record are available through the Criminal Records Division, Police Headquarters located at 9000 Airline Hwy. during normal business hours. Their phone number is 389-3839. Copies of reports cost $10. for the first page and $1. per additional page. To expedite the process, you should supply the report file number. If you do not know it, provide the numerical address and the date/time of the incident. Requests may be faxed, mailed or made in person. Commercial accounts are also available for high-volume customers. Copies of Traffic Accident reports are also available at Police Headquarters. 2 page reports are $5., reports of 3 or more pages are $7.50.

FORGERY VICTIMS
What do I do if I receive notices from banks and merchants on my stolen/forged checks?

You will be instructed to obtain an Affidavit of Forgery and send copies to the businesses to let them know that you did not issue the forged check. An Affidavit of Forgery may be obtained from your bank or any Notary Public.

POLICE REPORTS
How do I get a copy of a police report?

Police reports considered public record are available through the Criminal Records Division and may be reached at 225.389.3839. Police Headquarters located at 9000 Airline Highway during normal business hours, Monday-Friday hours are 8 a.m. - 4:45 p.m. Their phone number is 389-3839. Copies of reports cost $10. for the first page and $1. per additional page. To expedite the process, you should supply the report file number. If you do not know it, provide the numerical address and the date/time of the incident. Requests may be faxed, mailed or made in person. Commercial accounts are also available for high-volume customers. Copies of Traffic Accident reports are also available at Police Headquarters.

  • 2 page reports are $5.
  • reports of 3 or more pages are $7.50

For more information, contact the Traffic Records Division at 389-3878.

RESTRAINING ORDERS
How to Get a Restraining Order

Restraining Orders can be applied for through the East Baton Rouge Parish Clerk of Court Family Violence Department. External web link not maintained by City of Baton Rouge

LOST MY TICKET
I lost my ticket and don't remember my court date or the fine amount.

Call the City Court Ticket Section at 225.389.3020 or visit www.brgov.com/dept/CityCourt.

TRAFFIC CRASH REPORTS
How to pickup a Traffic Crash Report

Traffic Crash Reports may be reached at 225.389.3878 or picked up at Police Headquarters located at 9000 Airline Highway during normal business hours, Monday-Friday hours are 8 a.m. - 4:45 p.m. The reports will be available after 10 working days of the accident.

  • 2 page reports are $5.
  • 3 or more pages reports are $7.50
  • Driver/witness statements are $1. per page

For more information contact the Traffic Records Division at 389-3878.

MISSING PERSONS AND RUNAWAYS
Does the Baton Rouge Police Department participate in the Amber Alert Program?

Yes. Louisiana Amber Alert External web link not maintained by City of Baton Rouge Program has very specific criteria for when the system may be activated. When these criteria are met, BRPD will take the steps necessary to activate an Amber Alert.

POLICE DEPARTMENT EMPLOYEES
How many people does the Police Department employ?

The Baton Rouge Police Department is currently allotted positions for 789 police personnel (police officers, dispatchers and specialty positions) and 97 civilian personnel for a total of 886 employees. The agency also employs 110 part-time school crossing guards during the school year.

SEX OFFENDERS

Convicted sex offenders are required to register with local law enforcement. Louisiana State Police maintains a Searchable Database with Photographs of ALL Registered Sex Offenders External web link not maintained by City of Baton Rouge residing in Louisiana.

Baton Rouge Police Department